Feedback Form

Quran correctly categorized 11 planets, while science just caught up

National Geographic, March 11, 2008

The Holy Quran correctly categorized that there were 11 planets in our solar system, with the sun and moon. The astronomers and scientists till recently could only observe 9 planets and this was taught in schools till recently when space science enabled the realization and addition of the ‘dwarf planets’, making a total of 11.

Note- the ancients could only see and hence only knew of 6 planets ( 5 + Earth). These were visible to the naked eye and were identified by their ‘orbit’ motion as compares to stars. See: WikiAnswers-Six Planets

Quran: Chapter Yusuf(Joseph) A.

12:4. When Joseph said unto his father: O my father! Lo! I saw in a dream eleven planets and the sun and the moon, I saw them prostrating themselves unto me.

{Click here for Arabic translational evidence}

Bible also has a similar tale, lost a little in translation. Genesis 37:9 {Click for Hebrew original lexicon}

And science has it thus;-

Are you wondering how many planets are in the Solar System? Until just a few years ago, there were 9 planets in the Solar System. However, the International Astronomical Union decided that Pluto is no longer a planet, so there are now only 8 planets in the Solar System.

The IAU decided that Pluto and Eris should be reclassified as dwarf planets. The asteroidCeres meets those requirements, so it’s a dwarf planet too .

So, how many planets in the Solar System? Until a new, large object is discovered out beyond Pluto, there are only 8 planets, and 3 dwarf planets. (Total= 11)



In a recent mnemonic competition, the winner at River View elementary school, Mont., Maryn won with this beautiful submission:

My Very Exciting Magic Carpet Just Sailed Under Nine Palace Elephants.
Really cute, other nice submissions included:

My Very Extraordinary Mother Carrie Just Served Us Nine Pizzas Each.

and- My Very Extraordinary Mother Can Jog Superly Under Nasty Particular Elves.

Maryn’s mnemonic will be published in a forthcoming National Geographic book, “11 Planets: A New View of the Solar System.

To God the All knowing be the glory!


Evidence of the accurate word for ‘Planet’ and not ‘Star’in Arabic text:


farSeptember 7th, 2009 at 9:21 am

What an excellent revelation.

EricSeptember 14th, 2009 at 9:17 pm

You people are seriously cracked…

latest newsNovember 8th, 2009 at 5:48 pm

Al quran the living miracle.

RidzuanNovember 12th, 2009 at 2:22 pm

In fact I am pretty sure that the planets are only 7 (excluding earth, of course it is debateable). Because Allah said Earth as Al Ard. Not a single word Allah said as one of the planets (kawakib). Therefore, 7 planets plus 4 dwaft planets i.e. Pluto, UB313, Ceres and 2005 FY9. All together 11 planets. For Stars Allah said AnNujm. AnNujm is a general terms for stars including the Zodiac (constellation stars) and the planets. However Allah precisely mentioned Zodiac stars as Al-Buruj and the Planets as Al Kawakib. Planets according to Greek are “planetes asteres” i.e., wandering stars.

“When Joseph said unto his father: O my father! Lo! I saw in a dream eleven planets and the sun and the moon, I saw them prostrating themselves unto me.”

(Chapter or Surah Yusuf: 5)

11 planets means 10 step-brothers of Yusuf (Joseph) from Yaakub (Jacob)’s first wife. And plus 1 Bunyamin (Benjamin) — Yusuf’s younger brother from the same parents. All together there are 12 tribes of Bani Israel. Yaakub and his family (together with Yusuf’s 11 brothers) then moved to Egypt.

Surprisingly, Allah also mentioned Al Kawakib i.e. Planets —

11 Words:
(Chapter or Surah Ash-Shaaffaat: 6-7)

11 Words:
(Chapter or Surah Al-An’aam:76)

11 Words:
(Chapter or Surah Al-Furqan: 61)

One sentence on the 11th word:
(Chapter or Surah An-Nuur: 35)

11 Letters:
“Waizal Kawakib” (Chapter or Surah Al-An’aam: 76) Sorry I dont have the arabic font!

11 Letters:
“Ahadal ‘asyara kaukaban” (Chapter or Surah Al-An’aam: 76)

Amazingly Allah mentioned:

5 times on the name of the planets (kawakib).
(Surah or S. Al-An’aam:76; S. Yusuf:4; S. An-Nuur:35; S. Ash-Shaaffat:6-7; dan S. Al-Infitaar:2)

4 times on the location of the planets.
(S. Al-Hijr:17; S. An-Nisaa’:78; S. Al-Furqaan:61; dan S. Al-Buruj:1)

2 times on the function of the planets.
(S. Al-Fushsilat:12 dan S. Al-Mulk:5)

All together the total is 5 + 4 + 2 = 11

Note that Allah mentioned only 5 times the name of the planets because these are the planets that can be seen through our naked eyes. The people especially the Arabs knew this very well: These planets are 1. Utharid (Mercury) 2. Zuhrah (Venus) 3. Marikh (Mars) 4. Musytari (Jupiter) and 5. Zuhal (Saturn). Therefore the other 6 names are not significant for the people to know and it is not worth mentioning. [Note that the 6th planet, Uranus was found in 1786; the 7th planet, Neptune was found in 1846; — Pluto, 1930 was not considered as Planet but as dwaft planet]

Asif ZardariNovember 16th, 2009 at 3:03 pm

Al quran the best book.

Islam Ali MohammadNovember 18th, 2009 at 5:44 pm

Dr Zakir Naik also defeated william Campbell on this that there is no Scientific error in quran but many scientific facts.

Eddy JawedMay 4th, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Theres just one flaw in all your assessments.


farMay 10th, 2010 at 6:27 am

Then again… planets seem to cause confusion.

Leave a comment

Your comment

Please answer question * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.